I began this week getting my winter sports athletes ready for their first days of practice.  That in itself is a chore.  I had to do Impact testing, make sure that physicals were turned in, get those physicals into the computer, and then make sure that coaches had emergency cards.  On Wednesday I then had to leave for our girls state soccer tournament in Albuquerque.  I got up bright and early today and went to their game, which they won, and will stay in town tonight to watch them play tomorrow.  As soon as they are done I have to get in the Suburban and drive 3 hours back to Aztec for varsity football, and then drive back right after the game if they are playing in the state championship game Saturday.  On Saturday I also have my son's third birthday party.  it has really been a crazy week, but at the same time, I feel truly blessed that I am having such a h
11/9/2012 10:20:12 pm

Justin
I feel your pain buddy. I know what a crazy week is like. I just got back from my interview in NY early this morning at 2am and had to be back in for rehab at 8:30am then off to my daughters swim meet from 12-5 and back for visiting team practice at 6pm. Why did we get into this crazy profession again?

Reply
Justin Segotta
11/11/2012 05:35:47 am

James,

It was a crazy weekend, but I really enjoy getting to work with my kids. Our girls played for the state championship yesterday and I was able to make it back in time for my son's third birthday party. It really was a great weekend. I know it is crazy sometimes, but the way I look at it is that it keeps me out of trouble!!!

Reply
Michelle Cronin
11/11/2012 04:50:12 am

Hey Justin,

How are you able to have so much control over the physicals at your high school? My AD and Assit AD have total control and I dont even get a copy. The physical is also created by the district so I have little say in it and it certainly makes me nervous as someone who is taking medical care of these kids. Sounds like a crazy week though. I have had football still going and all of my winter sports started try outs last week. I still have to do assessor training for wrestling, impact testing for all basketball, soccer and wrestling and deal with the major injuries I have had in the past 3 weeks. Where did you interview at?

Reply
Justin Segotta
11/11/2012 05:38:50 am

I really have not had any issues with physicals. I make sure and tell them how important it is for me to have them so that I can make sure medically that the athlete is cleared for participation. When I first arrived the physical was made by the district, but we actually got in trouble the first year I was here because of how generic the packet was and from that point forward I have control over the physicals. I feel your pain. We have wrestling assessing this week and I still have some Impact testing to get done this week. It really seems like it is never ending. It feels like as soon as I get done with season the next one is starting!!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.